Premier League Schools Tournament 2017


  • Premier League clubs to be represented by local schools at national final
  • Under 11s mixed and U13s girls’ tournaments to take place at Stamford Bridge
  • Foundry Lane Primary School and The Westgate School will represent Southampton FC at the event

The Premier League Schools Tournament will take place at Stamford Bridge, the home of Chelsea FC, on Tuesday 23 May. The annual tournament, which is one of the competition elements of the Premier League Primary Stars programme, is now in its twelfth year and sees representatives of all 20 Premier League clubs take part in two six-a-side competitions running simultaneously on the pitch – an Under 11s mixed team tournament and an Under 13s girls’ tournament.

Each of the 20 Premier League clubs have held their own heats and qualifiers to determine which schools will be representing them in the Tournament at Chelsea’s home ground. Over 11,000 young people and 1,400 schools have taken part this year.

Foundry Lane Primary School will be representing Southampton FC in the Under 11’s competition, whilst The Westgate School will be hoping to win the Under 13’s Tournament.

The young people taking part in the Tournament will receive an authentic Premier League matchday experience, as they walk out to the Premier League anthem and wearing their club’s kit. The matches will be officiated by PGMOL Select Group 2 referees Chris Kavanagh, James Adcock, James Linington, Oliver Langford, Simon Hooper and Tim Robinson.

Last year’s Tournament was held at Goodison Park, home of Everton FC, and saw Ysgol Gynradd Gymraeg Castell Nedd, representing Swansea City win the Under 11 mixed final and St. Bede’s Catholic Comprehensive School representing Sunderland win the Under 13 girls’ competition. St Bede’s will be looking to retain their title after making it through as winners of Sunderland’s club heats for the second year running!

The full list of schools competing this year are:

Club Under 11 Mixed Team Under 13 Girls Team
AFC Bournemouth Epiphany CoE Primary School Bournemouth School for Girls
Arsenal Ashmount Primary School St Albans Girls’ School (STAGs)
Burnley Briercliffe Primary School Blessed Trinity Roman Catholic College
Chelsea John Keble Primary School Blenheim High School
Crystal Palace Avenue Primary Academy Edenham High School
Everton Farnborough Road Junior School Greenbank High School
Hull Swanland Primary School St Mary’s College
Leicester City St Thomas More Catholic Voluntary Academy Thomas Eastley Community College
Liverpool Bidston Avenue Primary School Chesterfield High School
Manchester City St Cuthbert’s RC Primary Failsworth School
Manchester United Tyntesfield Primary School Sale Grammar School
Middlesbrough St Patricks RC Primary School Macmillan Academy
Southampton Foundry Lane Primary School The Westgate School
Stoke City Walton Priory Middle School Congleton High School
Sunderland Easington Colliery Primary School St Bede’s Catholic Comprehensive School
Swansea City Tenby Church in Wales Primary School Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Bro Myrddin
Tottenham Hotspur Muswell Hill Primary School Goffs School
Watford Eversley Primary School Longdean School
West Bromwich Albion Witton Middle School Sandwell Academy
West Ham United Longwood Primary Academy Frances Bardsley Academy for Girls



You can follow news from the event on Twitter via @PLCommunities with hashtag #PLPrimaryStars

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.